Current Nail Favourite: Model’s Own Indian Ocean

Hello Snowdroplets!

This stuff, as the title suggests, is definitely my new favourite nail varnish – let me try to explain why…

First off, I bought this bottle of nail varnish inside a bottle of nail varnish. Oh yes, you read that right. Model’s Own pop-up type shop is in the shape of a cute bubbly nail varnish bottle with pink ‘varnish’ spilling out – I mean how frickin’ awesome?! What I especially loved was how the staff spoke about The Bottle as if it was some kind of alternate dimension where nails were worshiped like Gods and nothing bad… like, dare I say, bare or chipped nails… existed. It was a little slice of girly, beauty heaven!

Anyway, onto the actual nail varnish. Normally £5 (but I bought mine with two others so it was cheaper), this is a gorgeous shimmery top coat. In the bottle, it looks like a combination of turquoise and pink swirls with tiny glitter particles, but on the nails these colours do not show so much. It lets the base coat colour shine through, simply providing a gorgeous sheen and subtly picking out the pinks and blues of the shade and letting those parts beautifully catch the light.

I’ve used Indian Ocean over two different base colours to give you an idea of it’s appearance:

DSCF1574[1] DSCF1577[1] DSCF1578[1] DSCF1580[1] DSCF1581[1] DSCF1583[1]

 

I’m not sure these pictures quite do justice to this topcoat. Also, I have no idea what that black mark on my little finger is is the last picture?! Ahh well ;-). The base colour in the first look is Avon’s Speed Dry in Sprightly Mint, a gorgeous fresh mint green for Spring/ Summer and the base coat for the second look is another Model’s Own nail varnish from their scented range (though I have never noticed a scent at all) in Grape Juice.

 

What do you think of this nail varnish? The only negative thing I can say about it is that it does take a while to dry, definitely at least 5 mintutes. But once it is on, it certainly seems to stay on and not chip – which is a must for me!

 

Thank you for reading,

 

Simplistic beauty xx

2 thoughts on “Current Nail Favourite: Model’s Own Indian Ocean

Leave a Reply

