Something A Bit Different…

First of all, I must apologise for the huge gap between posts – I have been crazy busy recently but now that school has finally finished for Summer, I am FREE and will hopefully be posting more. Until I then go on holiday to America that is… OhmydaysI’msoexcited!!!

But, anyway, today I thought I’d share a poem I wrote. Before you read it, I’d like to make clear that I love make-up as much as the next person, but I don’t feel it should be compulsory. Every now and then, everyone should feel happy enough in their own skin to have a no-make-up day. Dare to bare I say!!

Made up

Make-up
For what?
The fact I’m not PERFECT?
My FLAWS?

Make-up
A face,
Another person,
CONFIDENCE soars?

Make-up
A verb,
A violent
Instruction.

Make-up
For your UGLINESS,
Self esteem
Destruction.

Make-up
More NECESSITIES,
Build up your BEAUTIFUL
Mask.

Make-up
More rules.
Worship each PURIFYING
Task.

It’s not the best thing I’ve ever written, but I wanted to take out a bit of my anger at the media for making us all believe we HAVE to wear make-up to be pretty.

Thank you for reading,

Simplistic beauty x

4 thoughts on “Something A Bit Different…

  1. I agree. Make up should be used sparingly to enhance, not to mask. Too many people think that being a waxwork is a “good look”.

Leave a Reply

